BEDFORD 28th JUNE 2007


The 132nd CSAA Track & Field Championships were held at the Bedford International Stadium  (pictured) on Thursday 28th June 2007. The earlier date was an attempt to see if numbers would increase from 2006 but this was not the case. For the first time, I believe, there were no heats in any event and one final was cancelled due to no competitors registering on the day.


These Championships are not elitist, though we are pleased to welcome a number of Masters’ Record Holders to the event. Indeed, without the support of our ‘elder’ statesmen and women I wonder whether the Championships could survive.


Despite all this there were some very good competitions throughout the day and the Championships ran smoothly thanks to the CSAA organisers, Bob Brimage, Gaye Clarke, Brian Craig and Neil Hornsby and the large team of track & field officials who turned up to assist.


The Victor Ludorum Trophy for Best Male athlete was won by Neil Barton whilst Natasha Brunning, was once again the Best Female athlete.


The major individual and team awards were presented by the CSAA President, Sir Anthony Battishill, and we are very grateful for his and Lady Battishill’s support on the day. HMRC retained the Queenborough Trophy for overall success in all 7 CSAA Championships held during 2006 – 07, whilst GCHQ were awarded the Braben-Whiffen Trophy for most improved Department.




                                                                                                            Nick Hume

Back to Home Page

Back to Championships Page

Back to Results Page

Top of Page