10k start 


Although not the traditional 10k Road Race, the CSAA Cross Campus Challenge around the grounds of Loughborough University can be considered a success, after some initial concerns. Although the course was nearer 6 miles than 10k it did not seem to detract from the athlete’s enjoyment of a mixed terrain challenge on quite a hot day.


However, it was disappointing from the perspective of numbers taking part and that only two Women’s teams finished. Although the London Marathon took away a number of athletes from all parts of the field, there must have been other reasons why the field was over 100 athletes down when compared to Battersea Park. Any feedback would be welcome on this.


The testing course started with 300m on the track before a short climb took the competitors off on the first of 3 laps around the campus and playing fields. Fortunately the ground was firm and posed no real problems for the athletes. Straight from the starting horn, Jeremy Bradley (GCHQ) made his intentions clear and continued to extend his lead to claim his first CSAA ‘10k’ title. In second place, Andy Tindall (DCLG) gave his all and claimed the Masters title, as well as 1st M45. Paul Ashley (OS) finally out sprinted Andy Goodair (HASSRA), after a close battle all the way round, on the track to claim 3rd place.


In the Women’s race Angela Allen (HASSSRA) won her 5th ‘10k’ title finishing over 3 minutes ahead of Diana Kennedy (DTI), with Michaela Dempsey (HMRC) in 3rd.


The Men’s team title was claimed by GCHQ who had a one point margin over DEFRA in second with HASSRA third. In the Masters Team race the order was GCHQ, HASSRA, HMRC. In the Women’s Open and Masters Races the order was HMRC and Land Registry 1st and 2nd in both categories. It was pleasing to see a team from LR after an absence of many years.


The CSAA will now award trophies to the winning open teams for the Road Race, Road Relays and Cross Country, in an effort to reward those Departments who cannot be competitive over the 7 events that comprise the Queenborough and Braben–Whiffen Trophies.


Thanks go to all those who helped to officiate, from the CSAA Committee Members to the CSSC volunteer marshals. The chip timing from Jand Results worked without a hitch and a link exists from the CSAA Website to the results. Special thanks to the main CSAA organiser, Chairman Gerry Trainer.


                                                                                                            Nick Hume

Back to Home Page

Back to What's New Page

Top of Page